Dreams of an Alternate Me

I was just talking with my husband about my dreams, and I thought it’d make an interesting blog subject.

You see, I often dream – in rather boring, everyday-life type dreams – that I smoke (I don’t, never have, highly doubt I ever will). Not much, maybe 2 or 3 cigarettes a week. Sometimes it’s just a fact that’s in the background of the dream. Sometimes I’m smoking, or thinking that I might want to cut down a little. It’s never really surreal or exciting, just… a part of life.

The other night was the same, yet provided a weird twist – in the dream, I dreamt that I was a non-smoker. And I ‘woke’ from the dream-within-a-dream and contemplated how strange it would be to have never smoked a cigarette. And then I woke from the dream, and thought: “Wow, trippy!”

I can’t help wondering if maybe there’s more to theories of alternate universes, alternate realities, than I’ve ever given them credit for. They’ve always been interesting ideas to consider, but nothing more. But these dreams are so darn mundane that I feel as though I’m catching a glimpse of an actual life. Weird, huh? But if I dream about things which will happen in the future, and things that could happen in the future if I follow a certain course… why not about a life that might’ve happened, but didn’t?

Leave a Reply

