Yoga Hurts

… and Tai Chi aint much better!

Eurgh.

One of the … ahem… joys… of open heart surgery is that by the time you actually get to the point of needing it, you’re probably not exercising much. Then once you have it done, all your upper-body muscles turn nervy and tend to fret, fret, fret… and fade away. ARGH.

So anyway, the point of that ‘explanation’ is to point out that I’m trying to rebuild my muscular structure almost from scratch. My belly is flabby. I have tuckshop arms. I get tired lifting 2kg weights (oh, the shame!). My flexibility is laughable (although scarily, still better than hubby’s). And hence, I attended my first ‘body balance’ class. It was supposed to be yoga, but the teacher was in India (how real-deal-yoga-teacher is THAT?).  ‘Body balance is a combo of tai chi, yoga and pilates. I’m not overly impressed by the meld (I’m a purist at heart I guess), but oh boy what a job it did of explaining to me just how pathetic a shape my poor body’s still in. I couldn’t balance for the life of me. And now I’m tired and sore, and it’s bound to feel a heck of a lot worse tomorrow.

On the bright side, other people were falling over too 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations on doing your body balance class! I swear the hardest part about exercise is actually getting your butt there.
    Yes, it is going to be hard at first, but as you keep doing it, it will get easier and one day your body will thank you for it – but probably at the moment it is going to rebel and hate you.
    It is so hard starting from scratch, but you are a champion just for trying.

  2. Thanks! Yeah, it hates me alright… but that’s OK. I avoided the temptation to take codeine (learned response from hospital – muscle pain + take codeine = all better) and just suffered. And shopped, as you’ll see in my next post 🙂

Leave a Reply

