Am I a Neurotic Mother?

I never in my wildest imaginings cast myself in this role. But read up, and see what YOU think.

I’m preparing for Bubba Boy’s first day at childcare. I’ve discussed with the centre manager the fact that he’s:

  • Dairy-intolerant
  • Gluten-intolerant
  • Vegetarian
  • Chlorine-bleach-intolerant
  • Sulphate-intolerant

Ye gads. How the woman managed to keep a straight face I’ll never know. I was listening to myself and thinking – geez, woman, you need to lighten up and lose the hippy attitude!

But the thing is, he gets nasty bowel-wind when he has dairy or gluten (the kind no gripe water will help). He gets nasty nappy rash when we use anything chlorine-bleached (like most disposable nappies and wipes) on his bum. He gets cradle cap and/or dandruff from sulphates. You get the idea.

Oh – the vegetarian thing? That’s my choice and I’m sticking to it, dammit.

So I’m wondering – am I neurotic? Is my child going to grow up repressed and smothered?

ARGHHHH!!!!!

2 Responses

  1. Not a huge range of food available when you are dairy-free, gluten-free vegetarian. For the four months I had to endure that diet, I think rice formed the basis of my diet.

  2. *chuckle* I don’t actually find it that hard. I’ve been (mostly) dairy-free, vegetarian and egg-free for years. There are lots of fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, spices etc. I must admit that the gluten-free adds another few items to remove from the diet, but there are far more gluten-free grains than gluten-ed 😛

    But I’ll admit that it took quite a mind shift – this stuff is such a big part of our cultural cooking. And I do finish up doing a fair bit of cooking from scratch, especially for Bubba Boy!

Leave a Reply

