Everything’s Coming Up Psycho!

Yesterday morning I got near the train station and heard the train approaching.

This is bad. Means I’ve missed the train, by the time I get round the corner and down 50 steps, dodging TAFE students and teachers and assorted Ipswichians. But I hurried anyhow, out of that optimistic maybe-they’ll-wait attitude that I can’t help sporting occasionally, especially when trains are 30 minutes apart. Lo and behold, they waited. I got down onto the platform, jumped through the doors – and they didn’t close on my bum.

By this time I was severely weirded out. This, in Brisbane/Ipswich, is like dropping a piece of toast 100 times and finding it still buttered, clean and non-cat-chewed at the end.

AHA! I worked it out. I panicked. I rummaged in my bag and found that… I’d remembered my wallet, and my weekly ticket was in it. Huh.

Then I noticed that the doors were still open. No, karma wasn’t out to slap me – it wanted some poor gal in the previous train who had a seizure. That must’ve SUCKED. 😦

****

Fast-forward to my day at work.

Did you know that beating someone over the head with a telephone is a great stress-reliever?

Well, neither do I, for sure, but I’d love to try it.

Things are absolutely nuts at work, so I’m sitting here writing a blog entry because if I don’t have a tiny bit of fun, someone’s going to end up hamstrung. At best.

3 Responses

  1. Hitting someone over the head with a telephone.

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, I just had a blissful sigh thinking about that.

  2. Oh my goodness I always end up running for the train and they always close the doors in my face. So now I don’t run. I just leave home an extra 30 minutes early … so I arrive just as the PREVIOUS train is leaving. Dammit!

  3. Anja – I thought you’d like that idea! It was looking MIGHTY tempting… and I only work with IT people, not deranged snobs wailing over their preciouses.

    Katie – Eurgh. Yeah. Been there done that. Decided that work would simply be more flexible about my start times, instead 😛

Leave a Reply

