How To: Turn Off Snapshots

Snapshots are those little ‘website preview’ pop-up windows that appear when you move your cursor over a link on some wordpress.com blogs. Most people seem to hate them. I dislike them cordially, because if I move my mouse over a link, it’s:

  • accidental (meaning I don’t want to see a preview)
  • because I want to see the actual address linked to (meaning I don’t want to see a preview)
  • because I want to click on it (meaning I don’t NEED to see a preview)

And that all adds up to – I don’t want or need a preview of the website, dammit!

Instructions

Note: These instructions apply for wordpress.com blogs only. They may also be correct for wordpress.org 2.5.x blogs.

  1. Go to your WordPress Admin panel – http://(your blog address)/wp-admin
  2. Click on the Design tab.
  3. Click on Extras.
  4. Untick the Enable SnapShots on this blog checkbox.
  5. Click on Update Extras.
One Response

  1. So that’s how you do it.

    Thank you from the bottom of my frosted heart! They annoy me no end.

Leave a Reply

