Me and My Shirt

Life as a Salvo can be interesting at times.

(“You’re a Salvo??” I hear you ask. Yup, 9 years in June. Great time to let that be known, eh? Right after using the word ‘arsehat’ in a post?)

I haven’t been properly active as a soldier for years, what with pregnancies, miscarriages, heart conditions, surgery and the like. I miss it. Feeling in the thick of things. Doing street work. Doing stuff that’s actually useful in a way that blogging and writing user manuals just ain’t. Listening to a brass band on Sundays.

Despite the inactivity, though, life as a Salvo can still get interesting. Because I have a few Salvo t-shirts. A couple of them have a big Salvo shield on the front and the classic “I’ll Fight” verse on the back:

“While women weep, as they do now, I’ll fight;
while children go hungry, as they do now I’ll fight;
while men go to prison, in and out, in and out, as they do now, I’ll fight;
while there is a drunkard left, while there is a poor lost girl upon the streets, while there remains one dark soul without the light of God, I’ll fight,
I’ll fight to the very end!”

All very stirring, of course, but useless without the actions to back it up, eh?

Anyhow, I’m wandering a bit from my point. (how unusual)

These t-shirts tend to get attention. Even if they do need to compete with my hair most of the time. But because I wear them so often, I’m used to them. I forget that I’m wearing an attention-getting t-shirt, and assume people are looking at my hair (not unreasonable up here in QLD). Then someone comes up and starts chatting to me, or asks me to look after their aged parents on the bus, and I wonder later why they settled on me. Then I look down, and see a big red shield looking up at me. And I remember.

A lot of people trust my t-shirts. They see that big red shield and think, “There’s a person I can rely on to care”.

What a reputation to live up to!

7 Responses

  1. I think it is a reflection of the respect that the salvo’s are held in for all that they do.

    I was wondering what church you went to – I couldn’t quite peg it. Now I know why lol

  2. Yup. There’s a definite reputation, especially among the older folk. I’m not sure the Salvos are as visible as agents for good in the community these days.

  3. Ahhh, makes sense 🙂
    Mum used to be, albeit briefly, a Sally.
    Did you happen to catch the doco on the ABC about the Brunswick Salvos near Anzac Day ?
    http://www.abc.net.au/tv/guide/netw/200804/programs/RN0711H012D20042008T212500.htm
    Fantastic doco, we were in tears.

  4. I heard about it, Jayne, but didn’t see it. Looks sad 😦 I should download it, though.

  5. I was wondering too … I can see you lending everyone a hand – ! Good on you actions speak louder than words.

  6. I know that feeling! I work around work sometimes and get mistaken for a chaplain.. .:)

  7. Sasch – LOL

Leave a Reply

