Breastfeeding Bikkies – Recipe

OK, dodgy name. But this is a recipe I threw together yesterday for a friend who’s having a baby soon, and it’s the best name my enfeebled mind can come up with at the moment. Basically, they’ve got ingredients which are said to help promote milk production. Oats, flaxseed oil/meal and fennel. I’ve included the flaxseed in LSA (linseed/flaxseed, sunflower and almond) because it’s supposed to provide omega fats in the right ratios, which also might help in milk production. The other stuff is just there for flavour, really.

Keep in mind that this is a REALLY new recipe. I’ve seen recipes for similar bikkies around, but I didn’t have an opportunity to look any of them up, so I just made it up as I went. Hence, it might be a bit off. Apologies if I stuff anyone up.

Ingredients

125g margarine (I use Nuttelex or a cheap soy margarine)
1 cup sugar
½ cup LSA (linseed – aka flaxseed, sunflower and almond meal)
½ cup dark chocolate chips
1 tsp fennel seeds, ground
1 cup oats
2 cups plain flour
¼ cup of golden syrup
¼ cup coconut milk/cream

Instructions

Cream margarine and sugar.

Add other ingredients and mix well. Add extra coconut milk, soy milk or water if the mix is too dry.

Take handfuls of mix, roll into balls and flatten. Place on a biscuit tray and bake at 200C for 10-15 minutes.

(Note: in my oven, these browned on the bottom way before they browned on the top. So you may want to check the bottoms when they smell done, because they probably are. They’ll be quite soft, but harden when cool.)

2 Responses

  1. OOO, they sound yummy.

    How did they taste??

  2. Really nice! I think the choc chips helped there 😉 But they’re something that I’d cook for us, too, not just for a special purpose.

Leave a Reply

