‘The Glow’ – UberMyth?

Over the years, I’ve heard people talk about a ‘glow’ that pregnant women get.

Errrr..?

I’ve been pregnant four times all up (that I know of) and never have I looked in the mirror and thought, “I’m glowing!”

Never have I noticed any other female glowing. Let alone thought, “Hey, she must be preggers!”

I’ve never had a single soul, out of all the tactless and thoughtless and unsubtle people I know, ever walk up to me and say, “Hey Naomi, why the hell are you glowing?”

So I submit this theory…

‘The Glow’ is a pile of fictional crud, designed to a) make women feel better about turning green at a moment’s notice and bulging in weird places, and b) allow irritating twits to natter, “Oh, I knew it – you just had that ‘glow’!” when you tell them you’re pregnant.

What do you think?

Am I right, or am I just glow-blind and cynical to boot?

8 Responses

  1. I think you’re right.

    That or I’m glow-blind too 😉

  2. I think you’re right. Or at least, when I look at my face and how badly I’m breaking out right now despite my pregnancy, I HOPE there’s no such thing as a glow, because if there is, I’m missing out on it!

  3. I’ve seen some women glow but I’d say it’s the “exception” rather than the norm.

  4. “the glow” is just a socially acceptable way of saying “You look like you’rte going to throw up or stabs someone soon!”

  5. I think the glow just happens once you’ve swollen up so much that the fluid just can’t help but break out through your pores.

    That, or it’s because your temps go up by 5 degrees, so it’s just sweat.

  6. Bettina – could be!

    Fyreflixie – welcome! And yeah, if so I’ve missed out bigtime in my pregnancies too 🙂

    Lightening – Hmmm… limited advocate for the existence of the glow! Do tell…

    Dok – Yup, good call!

    Sasch – *snicker* Cos the sweaty haze is like photoshop, evening out the skin tone?

  7. Sorry, you are glow blind and cynical.

    I glowed with my pregnancies, fluro orange and green. Twas quite a sight.

  8. well I’m glad someone has finally said it! :p
    I was ripped off – definitely no “glow” while I was pregnant with my darling boy

Leave a Reply

