Writing, and Yawning

I’m amazed that I ever get any writing done, you know. What with health problems, a toddler, an almost-teen, a husband, a full-time job… life seems a little overfull at times as it is. But somehow I manage to maintain writing fiction as well. At the expense of housework or cooking, at times… meh.

One of the interesting things about my fiction is that the writing of it breaks several rules of writing. Or more to the point – if I followed the rules, I’d probably get nothing done.

Write one novel at a time

Wandered over to Nomesque Fiction recently? I’ve written pieces of three different (very) storylines in the last week or so – Deadish, a murder mystery in which the murderee plays a starring role, Life in a Fairytale, in which adult things do happen, and drunk fairy godmothers are not as uncommon as you might wish, and Maisy May, a slightly off-the-wall take on christian fiction, with a *gasp* possible gay character! Somehow, writing like this works for me. I get bored easily, you see, and this sort of ordered chaos seems to keep me relatively on-track.

Each update to a serial should be at least 1000 words, preferably more

Well, see, I have the attention span of a goldfish when I’m reading on-screen. Give me short, snappy chapters that are easy to read (chunky paragraphs only when absolutely necessary, thanks). And yes, I do tend to write for an audience like me, I’ve noticed. My stories are often short (500 words or so) and dialogue is spaced out from actions in a way that I wouldn’t expect in a paper-bound book. Hrmmm. I didn’t really mean to do that, it just happened.

Don’t give your work away for free – no publisher will be interested in it if it’s been published on the net

This one did, originally, give me a LOT of pause for thought. Then it occurred to me that maybe I’d be better-inspired to write if I just plonked everything online and got some comments from readers. Lo and behold, I was right. I’ve written more in the last couple of years of having Nomesque Fiction than I ever did before.

=====

So, what’s my point? Ummm, read my fiction, dammit! 😀 But also – if you’re just starting out as a writer, be aware that the ‘rules’ are often only guidelines. follow the grammar and spelling ones, please. But most of the others depend entirely on the preferences of the writer, and the reader. And you’d be amazed what some people will fall in love with 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Amen 😉

  2. but don’t the best writers make up the rules as they go along?

  3. Oh I think the rules are made to be broken. Just so you know, I’m watching and learning!

  4. Jayne – MWAH 🙂

    B – yes, but so do many of the worst. Cor blimey, I’ve seen some dodgies lately. So I try to encourage ‘consider deliberately breaking them if you have good reason’ as opposed to ‘fuck the rules!!!’ 😀

    Bells – I guess it’s like knitting, eh? Follow the pattern if it works for you. Follow the pattern if you’re a newbie. Deviate if the pattern’s not working for you, or if you know what you’re doing enough to avoid making a complete dog’s breakfast. Hmmm… writing vs knitting… I feel a new blog post coming on! Maybe.

Leave a Reply

