Pet Hate #4035

Long, ‘evocative’ sentences in my fiction.

I don’t want to hold on to a sentence in my head for half a minute while my brain catches up with all the imagery that you oh-so-elegantly inserted. Sixty words in the SECOND SENTENCE of your book? Oh puh-lease.

And, given your ridiculously long sentences which would cause me to recoil from your book like a chook faced with a brown snake – and yes, I did squawk in horror – do not stick your nose in the air about other writers. Especially those who are ‘over-eager’ to publish. For God’s sake, ask one of them to help you with your damn punctuation.

3 Responses

  1. A paragraph within a sentence or a sentence that out-grew its boots?
    EECK!

Leave a Reply

