The Great @onlinefiction Experiment

… has been more successful than I imagined.

To recap, this was the experiment:
– start a twitter account called @onlinefiction
– post three or four links to free, online fiction each hour (other people’s and mine)
– follow heaps of people (initially) to build some followers
– see what happened

(check out Twitter Promotions over at Publishing Renaissance for a more in-depth explanation)

HOLY CRAP!

This has been amazing. I’m gaining around 100 followers a week (and I’ve stopped following anyone except those who followed me first). People are clicking on those links I send out at an average of 70/hour – but up to 120/hour in busier periods. Writers are telling me that they’re gaining more readers and commenters. Readers are telling me that they’re finding some fantastic fiction.

Here’s an example from a fairly average hour of tweeting:

bitly_screenshot

That’s part of a bit.ly personal page. The main part of the page displays my most-recently-added links, the box over to the side tells me how many people have clicked one of my twitter links in the last hour, and which ones they clicked on.

Is this sustainable? Will click-throughs increase or decrease over time?

Honestly, I have no idea.

But I’m kinda enjoying the ride.

2 Responses

  1. Well done, Nomes 🙂

  2. That is great stuff. You have been achieving some amazing things recently. Well done.

Leave a Reply

